The network has a rotating presidency, each term of office being for a period of one year. The presidency rotates according to the presidency of the Council of Baltic Sea States (CBSS) and runs from the beginning of July to the end of June. The Presidency and the Secretariat form a preparatory and executive body while the BASTUN spring and autumn meetings hold the collective decision making role. 

High level meetings are held approximately every second year

BASTUN's priorities reflect the political and social situation in the Baltic Sea Region. The network follows political discussion and aims to keep relevant issues for the trade union movement on the agenda of all relevant institutions of the region.


The Norwegian LO holds the BASTUN presidency from the beginning of July 2021 until the end of June 2022 and Terje Olav Olsson will be the acting president for the network.

During July 2020 to June 2021 the presidency was taken over by Lithuania and held by Inga Ruginiene president of LSPK. 

The BASTUN presidency from July 2018 until June 2019 was held by Denmark by the vice president Bente Sorgenfrey from the trade union confederation FH.